Forums
Author Post
krapsna
Mon Jul 07 2008, 06:07pm Print
krapsna
Joined: Tue Aug 21 2007, 06:26am
Posts: 612
Here's what your CMS has to say about the SQL error that always gets thrown:

I am getting the following error message:
CRITICAL_ERROR:
Line : generic, class2.php
Error reported as : [6] : Unable to form a valid connection to mySQL. Please check that your e107_config.php contains the correct information.
a) If your site was working - Your host's mySQL server has probably crashed. Often they will reset it automatically; sometimes they will need a prod (What is a prod? - kick/alarm call/tech support call).
b) On a new install - most likely the url/database/username/password combination for the database isn't quite right. Note that some hosts add prefixes and/or suffixes to either or both of the database and username. Also, while 'localhost' is common for the url, some hosts do it differently.
My site has stopped working - I get an error message:Critical_Error
Line: generic, class2.php
Error reported as: [6]: Unable to form valid connection to mySQL. Please check that your e107_config.php contains correct information.
The mySQL server at your host has crashed.
Your host will have to restart it. If you wait they may notice and do it anyway; otherwise contact them.
My site has stopped working - I get an error message:Critical_Error
Line: generic, class2.php
Error reported as: [6]: Unable to form valid connection to mySQL. Please check that your e107_config.php contains correct information.
Your mySQL connections limit has been exceeded.
Some hosts limit the number of simultaneous connections allowed to a mySQL database - on a busy or complex site this may be exceeded from time to time. Enabling caching should help. Otherwise reduce the number of connection required (by limiting the number of plugins, for example) or get a better hosting account.
Back to top
Thrash
Mon Jul 07 2008, 09:49pm
Better Smokin' Than Meth!
Thrash
Joined: Wed Feb 28 2007, 12:14am
Location: Under Your Mom's Meat Flaps!
Posts: 13655
Odd, ususally I get it once every other day or so, however, I've never seen that error so verbose ... I'll forward it to my tech support here ...
Back to top
krapsna
Tue Jul 08 2008, 01:05pm
krapsna
Joined: Tue Aug 21 2007, 06:26am
Posts: 612
The error wasn't that verbose, that's the information I got from your software's troubleshooting section.

I've been getting the error A LOT. Of course, i'm also on here a lot.
Back to top
krapsna
Tue Jul 08 2008, 01:09pm
krapsna
Joined: Tue Aug 21 2007, 06:26am
Posts: 612
Also, this site is like the slowest thing ever. Usually the way I browse / post this site is to click on a link, then go to another browser for a few minutes, then come back to the thrashinc browser. If I just watched the thrashinc window wait to respond I'd probably have thrown my monitor out the window by now.
Back to top
Thrash
Tue Jul 08 2008, 03:53pm
Better Smokin' Than Meth!
Thrash
Joined: Wed Feb 28 2007, 12:14am
Location: Under Your Mom's Meat Flaps!
Posts: 13655
Really?
Sometimes it's not the quickest, however, when I do pageload stats they are up there with most other sites ....

I've submitted what you posted to the host's support team ...

We'll see what they say ...
Back to top
Thrash
Tue Jul 08 2008, 04:14pm
Better Smokin' Than Meth!
Thrash
Joined: Wed Feb 28 2007, 12:14am
Location: Under Your Mom's Meat Flaps!
Posts: 13655
Ok, I reduced pageloads by taking the posts-per-page from 30 to 15 ...
I looked at the stats and found that the larger the thread, the larger the load, obviously ... I just forgot that there's a lot of pages with a lot of text and a lot of pics in this forum ...

I notice a difference immediately ...

Letme know what you think; I'll also see what the host's tech support says ...

Thanks again ...
Back to top
The Geek2
Tue Jul 08 2008, 04:20pm
The Geek2
Joined: Tue Oct 09 2007, 12:20pm
Posts: 742
I agree with krsna, ive noticed its super slow. i get that error once a day, or once every other day.
I dont know if your changes have worked just yet as I havent been poking around much
Back to top
The Geek2
Tue Jul 08 2008, 04:20pm
The Geek2
Joined: Tue Oct 09 2007, 12:20pm
Posts: 742
well it just posted a lot quicker than it used to
Back to top
krapsna
Tue Jul 08 2008, 05:19pm
krapsna
Joined: Tue Aug 21 2007, 06:26am
Posts: 612
It seems to be quicker so far.
Back to top
Zoomie
Tue Jul 08 2008, 10:52pm
Lose the shoes, bitch
Zoomie
Joined: Sun Aug 12 2007, 01:27am
Posts: 2438
Working GREAT Beav!
Back to top
Thrash
Wed Jul 09 2008, 01:51am
Better Smokin' Than Meth!
Thrash
Joined: Wed Feb 28 2007, 12:14am
Location: Under Your Mom's Meat Flaps!
Posts: 13655
Yeah, I figured with shorter pageloads and SQL loads, it'd be better ...
Back to top
The Geek2
Mon Jul 14 2008, 11:25pm
The Geek2
Joined: Tue Oct 09 2007, 12:20pm
Posts: 742
just a warning: it's slow as molasses again and i only get that "critical" error...
Back to top
Thrash
Tue Jul 15 2008, 10:47pm
Better Smokin' Than Meth!
Thrash
Joined: Wed Feb 28 2007, 12:14am
Location: Under Your Mom's Meat Flaps!
Posts: 13655
Hmmm ....
Maybe I'll change the cashe of the site ...
Back to top
who?
Mon Jul 21 2008, 04:03am
who?
Joined: Thu Aug 30 2007, 03:30am
Posts: 708
it's been noticably better for the last 3 days. however, it was ABYSSMAL a few weeks ago. i just never took the time to complain about it.

props to krsna for standing up to you, you BBS tyrrant!
Back to top
Thrash
Mon Jul 21 2008, 06:02pm
Better Smokin' Than Meth!
Thrash
Joined: Wed Feb 28 2007, 12:14am
Location: Under Your Mom's Meat Flaps!
Posts: 13655
Fuck off, knave ...
Back to top
Thrash
Mon Jul 28 2008, 04:42pm
Better Smokin' Than Meth!
Thrash
Joined: Wed Feb 28 2007, 12:14am
Location: Under Your Mom's Meat Flaps!
Posts: 13655
Ok, this should be fixed, for the most part, with the new host ...
It should also be FASTER as well ...

I'm thinking the netcooping had ONE good part to the outcome, right?
Back to top

Go to:

Powered by e107 Forum System


ThrashInc/TSi is The "Thrash"" Inc. BBS!!! System Network - 1981-2030
Distributed by Free e107 Themes, | free blogger templates